Four Seasons

The Four Seasons

With Frankie Valli as the lead vocalist, Bob Gaudio on keyboards and tenor vocals, Tommy DeVito on lead guitar and baritone vocals, Gerry Polci on drums, and Nick Massi on bass guitar and bass vocals, under the guidance of producer/songwriter Bob Crewe, The Four Seasons were formed in 1961.

Their first release “Sherry” skyrocketed to the top of the Hit Parade in the summer of 1962. Later in that same year “Big Girls Don’t Cry” also reached #1 and once again they duplicated their success with “Walk Like A Man” at the start of 1963 followed by “Candy Girl.”

The hits continued in 1964 with “Dawn,” “Ronnie,” “Rag Doll” and “Save It for Me”. Rounding out the 60’s The Four Seasons were top ten with “Let’s Hang On,” “Working My Way Back To You,” “I’ve Got You Under My Skin,” “Tell It To The Rain” and “C’Mon Marianne.”

As a solo artist artist Frankie Valli struck gold with Hit Parade chart topper “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You,” in 1967. “My Eyes Adored You” reached #1 in 1975 along with “Swearin’ To God” and in 1978  “Grease” was on the best selling chart for a total of 22 weeks after peaking at #1.

The Four Seasons had two more chart toppers with “Who Loves You” and “December, 1963 (Oh What a Night),” in 1978.

In more recent years “Jersey Boys,” on Broadway and a hit motion picture was about the lives of the Four Seasons members, all from New Jersey.

In 1990 the Four Seasons were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and in 2007 the Hit Parade Hall of Fame.