Smokey Robinson & the Miracles

Smokey Robinson & the Miricales

William “Smokey” Robinson was born February 19, 1940 in Detroit, Michigan. He, along with Claudette Rogers , Ronald White, Pete Moore, Bobby Rogers & Marv Tarplin are the original members of The Miracles, a group known as the creators of the “Motown Sound”.

Starting in 1960, “Shop Around” was the first of eight Gold singles. “You’ve Really Got a Hold on me,” “Mickey’s Monkey,” I second that Emotion,” “Baby, Baby Don’t Cry,” “The Tears of a Clown,” “Love Machine” and “Do It Baby” would follow. As a solo artist, Smokey Robinson added four more Gold records with “Cruisin’,” “Being With You,” “Just To See Her” and “One Heartbeat.”

Original Miracles member Bobby Rogers died March 3, 2013 in his Detroit home. He was 73 years of age.

The Miracles have sold over forty million records worldwide, winning numerous Gold and platinum Record awards. Four of their hit songs were inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. In 2009, the group received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. In 1987 Robinson and the Miracles were inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” and honored at the Kennedy Center in 2006. In 2001, they were inducted to the Vocal Group Hall of Fame and in 2011 the Hit Parade Hall of Fame.